Between lines and years

I believe in magic existing all over the world – there are magical people, magical places and magical moments. I must be very lucky to have lived and experienced all of them. It’s the last day of the year, another year lived in a magical place, called Girona. And although this writing is not an ode to the city at all, it is a sincere acknowledgment to a place that has been my house for 9 years  now.

cof

This afternoon we took take away from a restaurant and I actually felt bad about it. Because in the whole restaurant there was a complete chaos, the waitress’ eyes were desperately shouting “take me out of here”, at the same time while she was printing a receipt, speaking over the walkie talkie and taking some new clients to their table. And I found that so terrible and it made me feel very uncomfortable. I wanted to apologize for having given her more work. So the bottom line would be that we’ve kind of all lost track of the meaning of holidays and the importance of small things. It does sound cliche, but I couldn’t agree more.

After lunch I went for a walk in the old town in Girona, on the ancient defense walls. A bit crowded and full of tourists, but still managed to give me peace and quiet. The views, the sun, the fresch air, me with myself just taking pictures and gazing over the snowed mountains. A couple asked me to take a picture of them and we laughed and wished each other a Happy New Year. I had had lunch with two very good friends and previously had a drink with another one. Small and precious things that make my heart pound and will forever pop up on memory lane.

mde

We’ve reached the final destination of 2016 and I must say it has been quite a year for me. Last year, when I turned 30, some very close friends told me they wished 2016 would be the year of love for me. I can’t say whether it has been or not, but it has taught me to open myself again, to let my true colors just be, to acknowledge feelings and let them free and it has given me the opportunity to do things I’d never done. All translated into precious moments and words and meetings with a special person. So, if only for this, I couldn’t be more grateful to you, 2016.

I’m happy and at ease, which I hope and wish for all of you as well. And for all of us, humanity, because we have lost contact with our essence and internal beauty this year. The whole world is upside down and our principles and values mean nothing and serve mediocre purposes. I hope we all take our time to look inside and find these lost treasures – empathy and compassion. For a better 2017, full of love and magic! Oh, and it seems that tonight there’s 1 second more to 2016, use it carefully 😉

sdr

“Make New Mistakes. Make glorious, amazing mistakes. Make mistakes nobody’s ever made before. Don’t freeze, don’t stop, don’t worry that it isn’t good enough, or it isn’t perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life. Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, Do it. Make your mistakes, next year and forever” Neil Gaiman.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

